Awesome Mothers Have Awesome Daughters

I live a long way from my mum. I don’t get to see her very often. I like her emails. She says cool stuff like this:

When I was a girl and reading in the sun or imagining stuff time used to seem to stand still for me and at other times would go too slow when I was wanting to be at the beach or ill, and I used to think about days without end which is how they seemed, and came to the conclusion that time is really something bigger than a clock with which we measure it and that all that stuff is just invented to give lazy man a structure and guidance because they could not live without it, and because their minds can’t encompass infinite thoughts so they have to build a structure man can understand and live within. For some reason I did not have trouble with the concept of infinity, eternity or timelessness, other worlds and universes experiences etc, and tried to understand these things and to read books about them and see evidences of them in the world round me. I often remember borrowing books from the adult section and the teen section when I was nine and ten when Mum took us to ——- Library and the librarian woud say to me they were not suitable and I would not understand them, but she let me take them out all the same bless her. I had already been through the set of children’s encyclopaedias Mum got for us so I was not a beginner by then either.

Such awesomeness is to be expected since this is the same mother who backed me up when I said aged fourteen that I was never going to get married or have a boyfriend. This was at a family gathering, and of course there was the usual chorus of, oh, you’ll change your mind and fall in love and find your prince and blah blah blah, and I was like, no no no, and my mum was like, well, I don’t think there’s a man out there who’s good enough for her anyway.

Luckily though there’s lots of awesome women.

Leave a Reply

